Spoons, Beans and the Science of Crash Calculations!

I have mentioned the Spoon Theory before, however I came across this lovely little visual piece that uses beans.  Although the writer of this piece mentions CFS this can be applied to other medical conditions such as CRPS, Fibromyalgia, etc. too.  

I read this and thought “wow, this so applies to me!” and makes things a lot clearer in my mind as to why I need so much recovery time after doing anything, and is also a great fun way of explaining this to friends and family.

The closing lines “…ask her if she thinks it will be worth a crash…” is quite poignant as I am constantly weighing things up and making decisions about whether something is worth pushing it all out for and crashing afterwards.  I can’t constantly do this, as pacing, so I don’t run out of “beans” or “spoons”, is a far better option for my health and well-being in the long run.  However there are times when I inadvertently crash without realising it would happen, like yesterday after I had been grocery shopping the pain was through the roof and I had no choice to just lie on the sofa and sleep whilst my son put all the shopping away.  This crash came completely out of the blue and I am still recovering today.

If you suffer, or have a friend or family member suffer chronic pain conditions, or any other condition you think this might apply to, then please share to help make that persons life a little bit more understandable to those around them.

To my family and friends, thank you for your continued support over the years and for being understanding – be aware though I won’t be just talking spoons going forward – beans may well crop up too!

11 thoughts on “Spoons, Beans and the Science of Crash Calculations!

  1. Pingback: Spoons, Beans and the Science of Crash Calculations! | Sat on my butt

  2. Pingback: Cancelled plans and the art of saying “no!” | Spoons, Sailing, CRPS and Penguins

  3. Pingback: To do or not to do? | Sat on my Butt

  4. Pingback: My multitude of panics! | Spoons, Sailing, CRPS and Penguins

Leave a Reply

