Merry Christmas to you all

image

I hope you are all enjoying your Christmas.  I know I have been, especially as I have had my parents come to stay.  It has been truly special this year. 

My thoughts go out to all those who are having the kind of Christmas they never thought they would have.  To all those people who were flooded out of their homes a couple of weeks ago in the Lake District, only to find they could quite well end up in the same situation again by the end of this boxing day.  It is a terrible situation to find yourself in at any time in the year, and I can not even begin to imagine what they are going through. 

Then there are the fires in Australia which have destroyed homes.  One minute people are sparking up the barbecue for their Christmas dinner, the next they are evacuating to a shelter whilst their home and possessions go up in smoke.  Again I cannot imagine what they are going through.

I am also thinking about those that are going through their first Christmas without a loved one being there.  The heartbreak they are going through knowing they will never have another Christmas with that person.  I can relate to this one on a personal level and I am sure many others reading this have experienced this heartache.  It does get easier, although you never forget.

My thoughts also go out to those that find themselves homeless.  It’s a cold Christmas for these people out on the streets.  There are no warm moments with family by the fire, no big Christmas dinners, or gifts shared between family.  I feel for these people although I could not imagine what it would be like to be in this situation.  I hope I never have to find out.

I am completely blessed and grateful for all that I have this Christmas.  I may be in constant pain with waves of exhaustion but at least I am in a comfortable, warm house surrounded by loving family.  Although I am wishing everyone a very merry Christmas I am also very aware of the hardship and suffering others may be going through, and to these people I send my thoughts, with a hope that life gets easier soon.

Leave a Reply

