Tuesdays and Thursdays are tall ship days!

In the run up to the Tall Ships Races 2015, I thought it would be interesting to see what other class A tall ships will be entering into the first leg of the race from Belfast, Northern Ireland to Alesund, Norway.  I also thought it would be good to exhibit the other vessels here on my blog so that my family, friends and followers can see some of the types of ship I will be racing against.  To do this I decided to dedicate Tuesdays and Thursdays to be Tall Ships Days on my blog in the run up to the Tall Ships Races.  I could not include every vessel that has entered as there are around 50 in total, so I have only focused on the A Class ships.  

I guess the first Class A tall ship I should tell you about is the one that I will be sailing on – Lord Nelson

Class: A
Flag: UK
Length: 49.81 m
Rig: Barque 3
Year Built: 1985
Home Port: Southampton, England
Entered By: Jubilee Sailing Trust
 Crew: 50 including trainees and permanent crew
Further Information at: www.jst.org.uk

I hope you enjoy Tall Ship Tuesdays and Tall Ship Thursdays – excitement is building as it is all getting a little bit closer!

Where in the world is Lord Nelson:

19/05/2015

English Channel underway by sail doing 6 knots.

Last known port Fawley, destination Cherbourg.

21/05/2015

English Channel underway by sail doing 4.3 knots.

Last known port Cherbourg, destination Swanage.

29/05/2015

Moored in Jersey

04/06/2015

Celtic Sea underway using engine doing 4.8 knots.

Last known port Jersey, destination Cardiff.

09/06/2015

Irish Sea underway using engine doing 9.0 knots.

Last known port Cardiff, destination Douglas.

23/06/2015

Moored at Greenock.

From Marine Traffic

Leave a Reply

