A character study of a brilliant medical professional

Patient

An air of confidence, walking upright and proud.  This is a man I have met several times over the last 6 years.  With my first encounter I was so pleased to have found someone with so much knowledge and experience about my pain condition, CRPS.  Someone who understood what was going on with me, had empathy.  Such a caring nature and one that instantly put me at ease – a good bedside manner so to speak, very relaxed, not imposing or brutal, just very gentle, kind and knowledgeable.

He is a man who constantly seeks knowledge on how to treat CRPS in a way that is best for the individual, knowing that not one size fits all with treatment when it comes down to this extremely painful disease.  As research progresses he is not afraid to suggest and discuss alternatives to try.  I feel confident with his suggestions and have faith in him, this is a big thing for me as there are not many people I have faith in within the medical profession, I don’t even have faith in my GP!

Outside of his work he is a a family man with children.  I imagine him being very active and studious too.   Certainly a good role model to his family and I imagine he would be to his children’s friends also.

He is not afraid to go into battle to get equipment that is needed by his department, and I know he has been a success on at least one occasion with a very impressive piece of kit that really helped me.  He takes on this fight for the benefit of his patients, wanting them to have all the tools at their disposal to aid a speedy recovery.  Working in the NHS I think these battles will not be easy, however he still pushes on through the bureaucracy, thinking outside the box and going above and beyond for his department and the patients that attend there.

He is a trusting soul. Weighing up a persons character and working with them on their terms and commitments as far as possible. Being understanding of a patient’s life beyond their illness helps the patient connect with him.  He builds successful relationships with his patients and this goes a long way to gaining a patient’s trust and assisting in a patient’s recovery.  Or like me, a long term pain patient, the patient does not fear contacting him for advice and help even if it has been a couple of years since they last saw him.  I think this just goes to show what a brilliant person this man is.

Being a chronic pain patient I kind of feel that I am pushed to the sidelines, as if I don’t qualify for quality care, this includes with my own GP!  With this man it is completely the opposite. He realises that people like me with chronic long term pain conditions can slip through the net, have nowhere to turn when help is needed, and this is so refreshing to find in a medical professional, if only more would be like this man!

When I visit him it is like visiting an old friend, I am thankful that I have been able to avail of his expertise and experience over the years and feel very lucky to have come across this man, he has truly improved my quality of life and I thank him from the bottom of my heart.

3 thoughts on “A character study of a brilliant medical professional

  1. Lord knows we certainly need more docs around like that. You’re very lucky. We have a diabetes doc who is the same way. Sure instills confidence in you, and makes you want to be proactive in your own treatment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Having a physician on our side accompanying us in our battle with CRPS is so very important! (Mine happens to be my GP). I am so happy that you have found yours 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t see him often because of the way the NHS is. I have to be referred back to him which is hard. I wish my GP was on my side. I can never get an appointment and when I do it is with a different doctor each time. I have been trying 4 weeks to see GP about stomach issues but they don’t do advance appointments and I am not urgent enough to be seen on the day. Very poor service I get. So glad to hear yours is good though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

