Wednesday’s Word – Bugbear

Bugbear

Noun: (buhg-bair)

  • any source, real or imaginary, of needless fright or fear.
  • a persistent problem or source of annoyance.
  • Folklore – a goblin that eats up naughty children.

Origin:

C16: from bug + bear

1580s, a sort of demon in the form of a bear that eats small children, also“object of dread” (whether real or not), from obsolete bug “goblin,scarecrow”

Example:

What had once been a bugbear was now a bullish sign of growth.

My Thoughts:

One of my biggest bugbears is people that do not use manners – you hold a door open, a person walks through and looks at you as if you were something nasty they stood in – instead of doing this why don’t they just say thank you; or you hand your money over in a shop to pay for a purchase and the cashier does not even say thank you – great customer service that is.  It only takes a second to say please, thank you, excuse me…

My other one is people who move me out of their way like a discarded shopping trolley when I am out shopping in my wheelchair – hold on a moment I was looking for something on that shelf and now I can’t even reach it because you have moved me out of your way.  What gives people the right to do this – I am no less of a person because I use a wheelchair and I am certainly not a discarded shopping trolley.  If it was someone stood there you would at least communicate with them and ask if you can reach over – you certainly would not shove them out the way!

Dog poo (shakes head in disgust) – that awful smelly stuff that some inconsiderate dog owner has not lifted and now you have got it all over your shoes or over the ends of your crutches – even worse – round the wheels of a wheelchair, which is not nice because the rims of a wheelchair where you would put your hands are on the inside circumference of the wheel so any dog poo that is on your wheel gets transferred onto the sleeves of your clothing or onto your hands when you misjudge the bar and hit the tyres to push.  What is the matter with some folk – your dog – therefore your poo – lift it!

I probably have many more however these are the top three – what are your bugbears – why not comment below!

One thing I did not realise is the folklore side to this word – a goblin that eats up naughty children – now I like that one – maybe I should turn into a bugbear in that case – maybe I already am!

Word details copied from Dictionary.com

4 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Word – Bugbear

  1. Dog poo, my biggest hate. Well not the poo itself but the people who don’t clean up after their dogs. I push with thumbs on the tyre and fingers on push rim for better grip, better power and so a missed dog poo leaves my hands covered.
    No excuse is there

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

