Sailing Penguin sails into the Belfast Telegraph

Belfast-Telegraph

I posted a blog back on the 14th February about my tall ships adventures – going aloft and overcoming that fear.  I innocently tweeted it on twitter that same day and was approached by Tall Ships Belfast about doing an interview with the media about my tall ships adventures.  Well just over a month later I am in the Belfast Telegraph today, heading the Life section with a full page picture with the interview across the following page.  

The full story can be read here on the Belfast Telegraph website

I would like to thank Stephanie Bell (reporter) for doing the interview, and for her patience arranging the photos that had to be rearranged due to terrible weather and my health taking a bit of a downward spiral.

Also, I would like to thank Stephen Hamilton (photographer) for a good photo shoot on Saturday in the freezing cold with the wind blowing us to pieces down at Carrickfergus. Stephen was an excellent crutch carrier!  Joking aside, he put me totally at ease especially as I don’t really like having photos taken.  Don’t think I could ever be a supermodel!

Thank you to Belfast Lough Sailability for giving me the confidence to get back on the water back in 2009.  The team down at BLS are fabulous – if you know someone with a disability why not point them in BLS’ direction – it’s safe and exciting fun for people with any type of disability; or if you are looking to do some volunteering work then you will find volunteering with BLS very rewarding and a good craic too.

Finally thank you to my husband, I would not be able to do this trip without him – he is my rock!  And thank you to my son for scanning the newspaper so I could include it here on my blog.  Both of you are my world.

6 thoughts on “Sailing Penguin sails into the Belfast Telegraph

Leave a Reply

