Low FODMAP Gooey Chocolate Cake

Mmmmm!  This cake is just delicious and so easy to make – good for Gluten free, and those on a low FODMAP diet.

I came across this cake whilst searching the internet for something to make for our anniversary dinner back in October.  I wanted to do a desert of some kind that would suit a low FODMAP diet and this one fitted the bill perfectly.  It is proper gooey like a brownie and tastes fantastic – especially if you are a chocolate lover.  I have eaten it on its own or with lactose free cream and a few berries, either way works – so you can dress it up for a formal meal like I did for our anniversary or you can dress it down by eating it plain like a brownie.

INGREDIENTS

226g of dark chocolate (I use 85% cocoa or more)

140g of unsalted butter or dairy free alternative

200g of sugar (I use golden brown caster sugar)

1 tsp salt (I usually only put in 1/2 a tsp and it turns out ok)

4 large eggs (room temperature)

3 tbsp cocoa powder 

INSTRUCTIONS

1.  Pre-heat oven to 190C or Gas Mark 5

2.  Grease or line a 9 inch cake pan

Now for the interesting bit, there is something relaxing about making chocolate melt!

3.  Melt the butter and chocolate together using a bowl placed on top of a saucepan full of boiling water, or by sticking it in the microwave for 10 seconds at a time and stirring in between. Be very careful not to burn it.  Leave on the side to cool.  

I have always done mine in a bowl above boiling water and it has not gone wrong yet!

4.  In a separate bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and salt using an electric whisk until it is foamy.  

I try not to mix all the bubbles out of it, although it is not meant to be a rising type of cake due to its stodgy brownie type nature.

5.  Add the chocolate and butter mixture to the egg mixture and continue to whisk until it is all combined.

At this point there is always someone on guard to nab the bowl that the chocolate has come out of – it usually ends up pretty messy – including on the tip of ones nose!

6.  Add the cocoa powder and stir until combined.

7.  Pour mixture into the cake tin and cook for 30 mins 

Again, there is always someone waiting for the bowl and the whisks – don’t usually have to do washing up after making this cake!

8.  Remove from oven and leave to cool on a wire rack before placing in the fridge until ready to serve.

It really is as easy as that.  Most of the time I get my son or husband to help out as I don’t usually have the energy to do all of the tasks needed to bake a cake, especially as I find moving around the kitchen tiring and I tend to sit on a stool in the one place.  I like that it doesn’t have many ingredients and the instructions are not complicated at all.  Also I don’t have to worry about it not rising like I would have done with an ordinary sponge type cake.

I recommend you give this a go even if you are not on a Gluten free or low FODMAP diet, you certainly don’t feel like you are missing any ingredients when you taste it!

Once made sit back and enjoy – I know I will this evening when I take the one made today to a friends for dinner tonight. Thank you son for your help in making today’s specimen, as usual I wouldn’t have been able to do this without you.

More information on low FODMAP diet can be found here

3 thoughts on “Low FODMAP Gooey Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

