Que Será, Será – Whatever will be, will be

Deepak-Chopra-Quote

I read a blog the other day and it got me thinking about how often I have replayed in my mind the day of my accident in 2008 where an innocent walk with the dog and family on a nearby beach turned into a hospital visit with a dislocated ankle and a fracture.  I had two options that day, two paths to follow, two routes to take – I had a choice.

My parents were over from England and we had literally traveled the length and breadth of Northern Ireland.  We had been to the Marble Arch Caves, the airshow at Portrush, clambered over the rocks at the foot of Carrickfergus Castle and generally had loads of fun.  On my parents’ last day I had two things planned – a trip into Belfast or a walk along our local beach – we chose a walk along the beach even though it was dull and overcast, threatening rain – a little bit of rain has never put us off having outdoor fun!

Anthony-Robbins-Quote

I have often wondered how life would have turned out if we had taken that journey into Belfast instead, I know my parents, in particular my mum, have often wondered this too.  I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, we just don’t know what that reason is – we may find out as time moves on, or it will remain hidden from us and we will be left guessing.

I have some thoughts on the reasons why I had the accident and why I ended up with CRPS.  At the time of the accident I was about to embark on returning to study and I thought that maybe the accident happened to throw me off course as it was the wrong choice at the time for me to make. Since then I have thought that maybe I was destined to help others (which I have done in varying degrees over the years since the accident) and without the constant pain I would not have had the understanding, knowledge, or life experience needed to do this.  Or maybe the reason is hidden from me – for example if I had taken the option to go into Belfast that day, an accident still would have happened and it may have been more serious, I might not have been alive today to write this blog and my family would have lost a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, a niece, a cousin… or worse still I could have lost one or both of my parents!

Yes, we have the power to some degree to steer our destiny by our actions, our thoughts and our choices, like I did on the day of the accident with being in control of the choice made.  However there will always be some element of destiny that you have no mortal control over and it is simply a case of whatever will be, will be!

Whatever I chose that day, whether it was a trip to Belfast or a calm sedate walk along the beach, I was destined to have an accident, it is what I choose to do after that point that has shaped, and will continue to shape me and my future.

John-Mayer-Quote

And now for a little bit of fun

5 thoughts on “Que Será, Será – Whatever will be, will be

  1. Your post arrived on the perfect day. It is my birthday and my mom went to heaven a week ago and I was thinking what if ….and then your video of Doris Day singing my mother’s favorite song and I can hear my mom singing along with the refrain. Thank you for this gift of knowing some day I will be okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also have my “what if” day. The day if I had chosen differently, perhaps none of my chronic pain would have come to be. Or at the very least, it would have taken on a much less severe course. That day used to haunt me to some extent, but I find I don’t think about it much anymore. I also do believe there is purpose to the entirety of our lives of pain. I rest in that when I don’t know all the answers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I find that too, as time moves on, I think less and less of that fateful day. In fact I generally laugh about it now because of how everything happened – that’s a story for another day though. Thank you for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

