Aurora Borealis

image

Reading Aurora Borealis Infatuation set me thinking about an evening when I was 15 or 16 years of age and out with my friends for a walk.  An age when computers and Google did not exist, and what I learnt was from books or documentaries on TV.  This particular evening was very special, it was the first time that I ever saw the Aurora Borealis.

I will never forget the fear that gripped me when the green lights started dancing across the sky.  At that age I think you are still a bit impressionable (especially back then when knowledge was not at our fingertips), and my first thought was that the aliens had finally come!  Within seconds though, as the show intensified and more colours joined in the dance, I realised just what I was looking at.  I was in complete and utter awe.  I was spellbound to the spot.  I was full of goosebumps and butterflies in my stomach.  It took a few moments before the thought leapt into my head that I had to get home to my family so that my parents would see it too.  I legged it – I ran up a very steep hill and made it home just in time for the tail end of the show.

To see this magnificent beauty in my hometown in Worcestershire was a complete and utter fluke as she would not normally dance this far south.

I will never forget my first encounter with this delight that sent me through several different emotions all at once.  It is ingrained on my memory.  Since that day I have wanted to see the Aurora Borealis again, to stare into her beauty and get lost in nature’s very own light show.

I have seen a little teaser from where I live now in Northern Ireland – just the ethereal green glow in the sky, almost too imperceptible to realise what I was looking at.  It only lasted for a brief moment and did not materialise into a full show.  I have seen some fantastic pictures of the Aurora Borealis on the north coast of Northern Ireland, only a couple of hours drive away from where I live.

With technology these days it is easy to sign up to alerts, for when there is a chance to see an Aurora Borealis, through websites, apps and Facebook (to name a few) and I am signed up to the ones I think are useful to me and where I live in the world.  I also love browsing the many photos on the web and I follow a couple of pages on Facebook – Glendale Skye AurorasCelestial Light: Irish Aurora Hunters Homepage and Aurora Alerts by Soft Serve News.  What’s not so easy is finding the time, or the energy through the pain, to travel the hour and a half to the north coast, or to camp out in the car on the off-chance that the dance may begin, this means that so far I have not been lucky to glimpse this elusive lady of the sky since the torment of the green glow a few years back.  To see the Aurora Borealis again is certainly very high on my bucket list!

5 thoughts on “Aurora Borealis

  1. Seeing the Aurora dance is one of the top things on my bucket list as well. Never mind the cold makes my CRPS super painful, I want to see it! Crossing fingers for a fluke on our Norway trip in June but if not I will be back somewhere far up North to see the sky come alive. Sometimes a bit of pain is worth the pleasure and life long memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Random wow moment « Exploring Life and the World Adapted

  3. Pingback: Cloud, cloud go away, come again another day – wishing for clear skies tonight! | Spoons, Sailing, CRPS and Penguins

  4. Pingback: Reflection on a whole year of blogging | Spoons, Sailing, CRPS and Penguins

Leave a Reply

