What one thing would you tell yourself?

10 years

I saw this as a post on a friend’s Facebook page, and it kind of got me thinking, especially since it was around this time 10 years ago that we started on our journey to move to Northern Ireland.  It also got me thinking about those 10 years since and what has happened to us me as an individual, and us as a family.

Ten years ago we looked at a little house here in Northern Ireland that was coming onto the market, we fell in love with it.  We launched ourselves onto a rollercoaster ride of selling and buying a house alongside a move of 350 miles across the Irish sea.  It was probably one of the most difficult things I have ever done, not because of the logistics of viewing houses in a country that you had to fly to or catch a ferry to, or the need of two solicitors – one to sell a house in England and one to buy a house in Northern Ireland, or the general worries and stresses that come with buying and selling houses such as buyers pulling out, sellers pulling out, or people gazumping you (by the way all three happened to us) but because I was moving away from my family in England.  So when I saw the post, it kind of struck a chord especially as this will be our tenth year living here.  I asked myself

If I went back in time would I tell myself something different to the choice I made?

My answer:

NO!

The choice we made was the best choice for us as a family, my son has prospered with his education gaining a lot more than what we were told he would gain in England, my husband has had a well paid job, I have enjoyed and still enjoy my work, we have got into sailing, made some good friends and most of all we have been happy.  It is not a story of all roses above the door and happy things – we have had a lot of down times as well, such as a death in the family, redundancy because of the recession, an accident that left me disabled – plus the normal family stuff that comes along to test the strength of a family.  So when I thought about this question and looked at all that has happened over ten years, the one thing I would tell myself, if I could go back in time, about this big change in life would be:

Take the plunge, go for it, give it a try!

Saying this now in hindsight is really easy but back then we were thinking – will it work, will we be happy, should we move, the grass isn’t always greener!  No the grass is not always greener on the other side of the fence, however the only thing I miss about my old life in England are my family and friends that is solved by plenty of chats on the phone and visiting both ways.  All in all, the choice we made ten years ago was a great choice for us as a family.  Will I still be in Northern Ireland in another ten years time – who knows, at the moment my thoughts are yes, however just over ten years ago I never thought I would move from my hometown, even more so I never thought I would move so far away from my hometown!

The one thing I really wished I could tell myself, if I could go back in time by ten years would be:

Make the most of your life while you have your health – visit as many places you can (or can afford to), don’t put off doing something until tomorrow, and really enjoy what you do have – in the blink of an eye your life can change dramatically if your health changes (I know this one all too well)

Why not leave a comment, I would love to hear what you would tell yourself if you could go back in time by ten years.

10 thoughts on “What one thing would you tell yourself?

  1. I agree wholeheartedly! Live now, don’t obsess about the future, love passionately, pay attention to all the little joys of each day, and don’t let fear stop you from anything! Which, by the way, is why we are traveling to Ireland in May for our 20th anniversary. I may be in pain on the trip. Perhaps we should save the money for our old age. Perhaps we should just stay home and be safe. No! Instead, we are going to live passionately and see what happens next!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember an ad that used to be on TV when I lived in London — an elderly couple in their lounge room, the tick of a clock. The man says, “Remember that time we almost went to Majorca?” (I forget the exact destination) I don’t remember what the ad was for, but I loved the message about seizing the chance to do something. So to my 10-year-ago self, I would say, “Don’t stop travelling, keep seizing those chances, but do start saving money for your retirement. It’s great to say you’ve been to more than 50 countries, but that’s not going to pay the rent when you’re no longer working!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t recall the ad however I do like it’s message. Thanks for sharing what you would tell yourself. That is one thing I wish I had done a lot more of – traveling. I intend to do some more that’s a certainty.

      Like

  3. Great post! Ireland is beautiful countryside. We went to Ireland for four weeks on our honeymoon several years ago. It was a wonderful trip. I would love to live around such beauty! If I could go back and tell myself one thing it would be to work less, obsess about work less and not be so preoccupied by work. I missed a lot because I worked way to much and way too hard. Sure, I accomplished good things and banked a lot of money but I also lost time I can’t get back with family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think about this from time to time and like you I think I would say to GO more and wait less. Don’t fear quite so much as it holds you back. For us watching the Disney movie “Up” really solidified that we must do NOW and stop waiting for the “right time”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

